Teaser Tuesdays: December 17, 2013

tteThis week has been crazily busy so I’m going to do a little leap into the future for this week’s Teaser Tuesday. I’m on the last chapter of If on a winter’s night a traveler…, but since I’ve already teased it I thought I’d preview the next book on my TBR list instead. One of my new Thai novels arrived late last week and I immediately moved it to top priority. This week’s teaser is from Kukrit Pramoj’s novel Many Lives from a page and paragraph chosen completely at random:

Nori only understood part of what his mother said, but he took in the tears and sobs of suffering, born of hurt and disappointment. The things he saw and felt made Nori deeply sorry for his mother. He thought then, as a child would, that if drink could cause his mother such suffering, he would never touch it.

This is a teaser both for you and for me seeing as I have no idea what the story is about. I really look forward to reading Pramoj’s novel and I hope, if it intrigues you, you’ll check it out yourself!

Do you already know what book you’ll read next? If so, what is it and why did you choose it?

Leave a comment