Friday Finds: December 13, 2013

fridayfinds_bringontheinkHappy Friday the 13th, everyone! Today I’ll be sharing my Friday Finds as a part of the weekly meme run by MizB.  Every Friday readers share new books they’ve found and added to their TBR list over the course of the week. In my case these books have been added to my ever-growing wishlist for the new year. I’m trying to catch up on the past few issues of my favorite book review magazine, Bookmarks, which means I have a ton of new books I want to read. These books I selected from Bookmarks‘ November/December 2013 issue (note, these are just a few as I actually found over two dozen, oops):

  • Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell- I’ve been debating reading this for a long time. Part of me is extremely interested in the story, and part of me is extremely hesitant because it might hit a little too close to home for comfort or enjoyment. This month I’ve decided to give in and add it to the TBR list. We’ll see how I feel about it when I get around to reading it.
  • The Valley of Amazement, by Amy Tan- Amy Tan is an amazing author and I was super happy to see she’s released a new book. Definitely must read!
  • The Sound of Things Falling, by Juan Gabriel Vasquez- Vasquez is a Colombian author who’s been getting a lot of attention recently. He’s being compared to Gabiel Garcia Marquez in terms of his effect on Colombian literature, though their styles are utterly different. I really want to try him out, so on the list he goes.
  • The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon- According to Bookmarks the young author of this new young adult novel received a huge advance for all seven books in her series. If that’s not intriguing, I don’t know what is.
  • MaddAddam, by Margaret Atwood- I have read only one Atwood novel so far and loathed in (looking at you, Handmaid’s Tale), but I am all for giving an author a second chance, especially when so many people speak so highly of her. I actually plan to read a different Atwood novel first, but I will definitely be checking out this novel, her newest, as well.

I know, this list is entirely influenced by the authors. What can I say? I am very author-driven when it comes to choosing my books. One of my challenges for 2014 is to branch out and try more new authors, though, so I suppose I’ll have to let go of this habit a little.

Leave a Reply

