It’s Monday! What are you reading?: December 9, 2013

The best way to get into the habit of writing about my reading is to write as much as I can, so I’m going to try and take part in weekly memes to get the ideas flowing. Luckily for me there are a wide variety of memes out there to use thanks to the creativity of my fellow readers. If you know of a good reading meme, please link it in the comments and I’ll give it a try! First off we have It’s Monday! What are you reading?, a weekly book meme run by Book Journey. Every Monday I will try to post about what I’m currently reading.

 

This week I am working on and will likely finish Shifu, You’ll Do Anything For A Laugh by Mo Yan. Mo Yan won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2012 and is known for his brutally honest depictions of poverty in China before and after the Cultural Revolution. Shifu, You’ll Do Anything For A Laugh is a collection of short stories that continue his themes of poverty and life in rural China. The story from which the collection takes its title is so far my favorite in the collection. A factory worker is laid off two days before he is scheduled to retire and falls into despair trying to figure out how he’ll support himself. He comes up with a rather unorthodox new business which leads to hilarity and, of course, trouble. I have a whole stack of Mo Yan’s novels which I plan to dig into either this month or at the beginning of 2014!

Leave a Reply

